Reflecting on the First Days of Summer Break

I got a late start on summer vacation. First, we had our first department meeting of next year the day after school got out. I had to clean my room and submit my grades. Then, we had our summer tech conference (a 3 day affair) that I both attended and taught at. Throw all of this on top of learning for the first time what it means to be a home-owner, and I haven’t had a whole lot of time.

Now that I am finally getting a chance to relax and do some other stuff, I’ve noticed a couple of things about what I’m doing. Oddly enough, I’m not spending a whole lot of time playing video games (MarioKart Wii is my current obsession in that department). Yesterday, for example, instead of playing games, I photoshopped a really cool title page for the trivia game I run for my classes. In fact, I was so proud of it that I spent a couple hours today photoshopping a game board (very similar to that of a popular answer-question TV game show) and then put together an interactive PowerPoint using those graphics (complete with great sounds and fitting animations).

Then, this afternoon, instead of playing video games, I sat down and started browsing around the internet for sites, blogs, and other resources that I might use in my new role as one of our building’s technology teacher leaders (a new program we’re starting next year). I came across some really cool sites, including one that (coincidentally) talks about using PowerPoint in a non-linear way (kind of like for trivia games).

The weird thing about all of this is that it’s not even something I feel like I have to do. Instead, I feel like doing all of these school-related things are really enjoyable. Not sure if that’s a good thing or not. On the one hand, I could be a total workaholic. On the other hand, I do tell people who ask that I teach because I enjoy working with kids. Hopefully this is just an extension of that – I enjoy doing things that I know are going to help students.

One response to “Reflecting on the First Days of Summer Break

  • Ben A.

    Thanks for the link to the PowerPoint blog. I’ve been experimenting with PowerPoint games as well after a colleague of mine started using them in his classes to great success. I’ve found some great ideas for using PowerPoint in the classroom at http://www.dedicatedteacher.com, as well some helpful technical tips. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

