Shelfari’s “Wish List”

Not too long ago, I posted a basic review of Shelfari and why I feel it has been and will continue to be a great tool to use in the classroom.  The last couple of weeks, as I’ve finished reading a couple of books, I think I’ve found something of a downside with Shelfari.

My Wish List is growing. Exponentially.

See, when I started using Shelfari, I was really excited to try finding every book I’d ever read and sharing it on Shelfari. I gave up on that idea fairly quickly. That’s just a lot of books. Once my “Books I’ve Read” shelf was up, I started adding books to other shelves – my favorites, books I own, etc. Two shelves have developed similar but different uses for me: books I plan to read, and the wish list. The former I use to create a lineup of the books I have on my shelf that I expect to get to soon. The latter, however, I use as a sort of “I’d like to read this once I clear out my ‘Plan to Read’ shelf” shelf.

As I’ve finished books and add them to the “Books I’ve Read” shelf, I noticed that, as I read books, I would see titles and authors mentioned that piqued my interest. I didn’t really want to forget them, and since half of my reading is at home, where I don’t have OneNote to keep the list, I started adding these books to my “Wish List.”

The problem I’m finally noticing is that, for every one book I add to the “I’ve Read” shelf, I add 2 or 3 to the “Wish List” and/or “I Plan to Read” shelves. Since I never used to keep a list of books I’d like to read (which is basically how I use the Wish List.

Long story longer, I think this phenomenon – my “Books to Read” lists growing longer than the “Books I’ve Read” list – illustrates one of my fundamental beliefs about education and learning. I think it’s best said by one of my all time favorite bands, Switchfoot: “The more we learn, the less we know.” In this case, it’s only a little bit different. I can honestly say that this is good evidence that the more I read, the more I realize I have yet to read.

Oi.

One response to “Shelfari’s “Wish List”

Leave a Reply

