News in a World of Hurt…

A few quick news briefs from the (insanely busy) last couple weeks (hopefully I’ll be able to post more once things settle into a routine):

  • First day of school was today. Students were awfully quiet. We are composing a Students’ Bill of Rights in my classes and they didn’t want to say anything. I can’t believe I had to call people out to tell me what they wanted to be able to do in school. In any case, it was a good day. It’s nice to be back with students – they’re a lot of fun. And, as an additional bonus, I discovered that I’ll get to plan in my classroom. Sweet.
  • I love football. I have season tickets to UW games. I get pumped about Saturdays during the fall. And I love the tactics and strategery involved in coaching the game. However, when I volunteered to coach football, I didn’t quite realize I was signing my soul away for 3 months. C’est la vie.
  • I felt like we had very little time to prep our classrooms this year relative to last year. And to make matters worse, a lot of things aren’t here. The supplies I ordered in the spring haven’t gotten here for some reason. Even worse, the copies of “The Whale Rider” our department ordered were never actually ordered by our district. So now we don’t have any books for the planned first unit of the year (go figure). Even so, it’s been fun doing some crash improvising with colleagues – I work with a great group of dedicated and wonderful teachers.
  • A lot of interesting news stories going on – Hurricane Gustav, Sarah Palin, Russia/Georgia, Olympic steroid scandals. And yet, it seems (based on my RSS feeds, at least) that the biggest news was today’s release of Google Chrome. Can’t say I’ve had time to download and experiment yet, but I’m certainly looking forward to checking it out. Sounds like it’s got some pretty sweet features. For now, I’ll just have to wait.

And that’s the way the cookie crumbles…or something.

3 responses to “News in a World of Hurt…

Leave a Reply

