A New Philosophy of Blogging

Rodins Thinker by steven n fettig, on flickr

"Rodin's Thinker" by steven n fettig, on flickr

As mentioned a while ago, I’ve been giving some thought to a redesign – both in terms of the appearance/layout of the blog and the thinking behind why I’m doing this. If you’ve visited the site recently, you’ve probably noticed that I’ve hit the appearance/layout redesign and I’m pretty happy with it.
As for the philosophical thought process, I’ve given a lot of thought to how and why I do what I do on this blog. I thought it would be a good time to share my thought processes.

Why do I blog?

This was the starting point for me in redesign. Initially, I think it was purely to get involved in the onlne conversation and try to put in my two bits. Last year, I learned about RSS feeds and started subscribing to blogs, but I felt like I couldn’t share my side of the conversation. Essentially, it was a way for me to make my voice heard. Blogging was a chance to use technology, assess its value, and share information. As I have done so, I’ve become convinced of the power of blogging – the empowerment of having a voice, the encouragement of being heard, and the value of online PLCs.

As I’ve continued to blog, I think my purpose for doing so has evolved. At this point in my blogging life, I think there are three purposes for maintaining this blog:

  1. To ask questions and seek feedback regarding teaching, technology, and/or education in general.
  2. To share stories, links, and other resources that might benefit other educators.

How Do I Blog?

In rethinking what I do here at Edumacation, this was a more difficult question for me to ponder. When looking initially at successful blogs and “blogging tips” websites, there one consistent message that I heard: posting frequently is vital. In fact, I believed this to such a degree that I wore myself down trying to post at least a couple of times a week. Amidst planning, grading, coaching, mentoring, and everything else I had on my plate, I was forcing myself to crank out good content every couple of days.

As I’ve read more and written more, however, I have come to one significant realization: posting frequently is not a necessity. Very simply, it’s the old adage of “quality over quantity” that makes a blog successful. As an exemplar of this, I point to one of my favorite blogs to read – Smart Football. At times, I get very frustrated with this blog – Chris, the blogger, posts fantastic content, but posts are infrequent and sometimes sporadic. But here’s the thing: I am almost craving his next post, simply because all of his other posts are of such high quality. I find myself checking my reader regularly, hoping that his next post will be up. The quality of his posts become far more important to me than the quantity. Does this mean I post once a month? I certainly hope not. I think, as a practical goal, I want to post at least once a week. But it makes sense to me that, if I don’t have any good resources to share or questions to ask, posting for the sake of posting seems silly.

The Upshot

This seems pretty simple to me – write fewer, higher quality posts. In my mind, “high quality” posts are those that meet one or both of my purposes for blogging (see above), particularly #2 – sharing resources that benefit educators. It is with this in mind that I am going to be posting less frequently, but focusing my efforts on bigger “project” posts. An example would be this post – something I spend a couple of hours composing and refining. Another example is a resource page and corresponding post I am working on (something for all the busy teachers out there to look forward to).

So there you have it – a little explanation of what you’ll be seeing here at Edumacation for the forseeable future. If you have suggestions or would like to see something, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment – I’ll be sure to respond to everyone’s comments. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

